Historic Dubai

Grand Prix Revival

As the Historic Dubai Grand Prix Revival powered by Gulf Historic is putting the finishing touches to its preparations, it’s time to discover the names of those who’ll be lucky enough to drive the Formula 1 one-seaters, Group C and GTP prototypes at the Dubai Autodrome today and tomorrow. Amongst the entries of this exclusive list there are famous collectors, historic cars lovers as well as professional drivers. Former winners of the 24 Hours of Le Mans, Spa, Nürburgring, Daytona and Dubai have taken up the challenge. Formula 1 drivers who raced in the 80s and 90s will also be there.

Two cars are powered by team Rebellion: five-time Dakar winner and FIM Cross-Country Rallies World Champion rider Cyril Despres and two-time Dakar winner Mathieu Baumel share one of the two Argo JM19Ds present; Oliver Webb, who won the European Le Mans Series in LMP2 and the 24 Hours of Dubai, plays the role of James Hunt in his iconic Hesketh 308.

Jean-Denis Délétraz — 24 Hours of Spa and LMP675 category 2001-2002 24 Hours of Le Mans winner — is at the wheel of an Arrows A3. The Swiss driver also attends the Group C & GTP events in which he teamed up with Porsche works driver Mathieu Jaminet in GPX Historic’s Cougar C28S.

Cougar C28S

Double winner of the 24 Hours of Le Mans, World Endurance champion, and Pikes Peak’s record-holder Romain Dumas races in F1 Historic with the Fittipaldi F8 – shared with Julien Andlauer, 2nd place at the 2021 Monaco Historic Grand Prix and Porsche works driver – and in Group C with the Rondeau M382.

Prince Bernhard of Orange-Nassau, who won the GT4 European title, is in the cockpit of the Group C2 1990 24 Hours of Le Mans winning Spice SE89C.

Axcil Jefferies, who won the Lamborghini Super Trofeo Middle East, the Asian Le Mans Series and the 24 Hours of Dubai, drives the amazing Maki F101. The Zimbabwean also conducts the Dubai Autodrome’s Argo JM16 with Saeed Al Mehairi, a regular in GT events.

2 x class 24 Hours of Dubai winner Khaled al Mudhaf also joined with his G Force Autoworx-Argo JM19D from Kuwait.

Tiga GT287 IMSA Lights & Rondeau M382

The colours of the Edmond de Rothschild team, are shining thanks to Thierry Boutsen, behind the wheel of the Tiga GT287 IMSA Lights. The Belgian won three F1 Grands Prix, scored three podiums at the 24 Hours of Le Mans and scored a 2nd place in GTS-1 class at 1997 24 Hours of Daytona.

Shadow DN5

Jérémy Loisel tames the Shadow DN5 run by the Connecting to Gulf team; Jordan Grogor, double class winner in the 24 Hours of Dubai, uses his lovely (and unique) Amon AF101 entered by the BB One Racing team; Roald Goethe, who competed in the 24 Hours of Le Mans on three occasions, drives his Tyrrell 007 Formula 1. His friends Jordan Grogor and Stuart Hall will relay each other at the wheel of the sensational Porsche 962; 

Patrick Depailler on Tyrrell 007, 1974 Swedish Grand Prix

Andy Soucek, former F1 test driver, races a Surtees TS9B entered by Chelsea 1979 team; Tiziano Carugati from Carugati Automobiles is also in Dubai this weekend at the wheel of an ATS from 1978. British squad Martin O’Connell’s OC Racing Limited runs Jamie Constable in a Shadow DN8. Max Girardo, drives a Spice SE90P in the Group C / GTP races. At the wheel of a similar car, powered by a Ford Cosworth engine in place of the Ferrari, is Belgian Marc Devis from the RMD Classic workshop.

Spice SE90P Ferrari, 1991 Watkins Glen International © William Murenbeeld / LAT Images

The remarkable Ascott Collection is represented by its founder Xavier Michelon who’s ready to surprise everybody with his turbine-powered Howmet TX.

Sebring, 1968: the Howmet TX turbine car prepares to leave pits

Free practice and qualifying today, Thursday December 2 and races tomorrow. Don’t miss it!